|
|
|
German Daggers Dot Com
German Daggers Dot Com
Edged Weapons
Rohm Dagger Forum
Seller "OldMarketPlace" dagger on E-Bay|
Go
![]() |
New
![]() |
Find
![]() |
Notify
![]() |
Tools
![]() |
Reply
![]() |
|
![]() ![]() |
Question:
Wasn't this very rough Rohm now dagger being sold by the E-Bay seller "Oldmarketplace" once on the site of a very nice guy and GDC forum member's site, D. D. Harris? If I recall, DD was asking only a few hundred, and told everyone what a beater it is. It might not be the same dagger, but wanted your thoughts. http://cgi.ebay.com/EARLY-GERMAN-PRESENTATION-DAGGER-FU...QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
BUY IT NOW $1,400 |
||
|
![]() ![]() |
It does indeed seem to be the same blade - not a bad mark up!!!! this would be the first original thing oldmarket has sold in a long time
GDC silver member #393 |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Aah the blades ok: Haven't you ever see an example of East Slabovian damascus before!! Does anyone really know who this seller is?
|
|||
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I always advise newer Members to avoid auctions with ANY of the following attributes:
- Pay only by Western Union - Seller is in the old Warsaw Pact areas. - "User ID Kept Private" auctions - "All sales are final" auctions This one, besides selling a really crappy dagger, has both of the last two mentioned features, which you should take as a warning. Dave |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
One important fact, don't forget the real reputation of this seller despite the apparent originality of this particular dagger. Additionally, all of Dave's points are well taken.
|
|||
|
Im not saying I know anything...yet...
But a few weeks ago I knew less than nothing, and I wouldnt buy that one even then, simply because its rough and ugly. So I dont really understand why anyone at all would buy it. Even if you dont have the slightest idea, you could see its ugly, and buy something else. So I must be missing something in the ad, or the seller missing something between the ears... |
||||
|
![]() |
THIS APPEARS TO BE A BLADE(BLADE ONLY) I SOLD AT THE SYRACUSE NY SHOW LAST WEEKEND FOR $300 ..DIRECT VET PURCHASE HA-HA ...
|
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Hi d.d.:
It must be magnetic as it seems to have attracted additional parts! Jim |
|||
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Usually, when something is posted about this seller, his friend shows up to tell us that .... we are really being short sighted and the dirtbags who first ran this business are now long gone, so it's really OK for us to bid now.
DD - if you kept any pictures, please post them. Dave |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Yes;
I have been wondering when "Stabchef" is going to make an appearance. Jim |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Hi D.D.
GDC member Goldfasen said he saw you at the show and you two got to chat. Yes - I thought this was your blade. Thanks for sharing. Always appreciate your site too DDS Daggers I like to look there, and I love the pieces you have sold me. As far as this guy, he just lowered the price on E-Bay to $1295. I guess his original declaration didn't pan out.
|
|||
|
![]() |
PIX OF THE RAT ROEHM BLADE I SOLD AT SYRACUSE SHOW LAST WEEKEND .... www.ddsdaggers.com/rat ..pix are to big to post
|
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
d.d.
Do you also have a picture of the rat that bought it? Jim |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Jim - DD probably doesn't have that, but I can imagine what "Oldmarketplace" looks like. Here he is.........
|
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
By the way - he lowered the price again on the E-Bay ad.
Now down to a "bargain" at $1200. |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Borse:
BTW: Is that what ALL the used car salesmen from Jersey look like!! Jim |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Jim,
My God! That guy is a dinosaur, I know that type however. Kris |
|||
|
Gentleman
Start your engines....Lets see if we can make his day...I will start it off at opening bid. |
||||
|
![]() |
The dagger was brought in to my buddy's store by a young Gentleman in his late 20's to early 30's, I was called in to examin it, I saw nothing wrong with it other than the extensive pitting as described in auction. It was a full and complete dagger when Oldmarketplace received it the way you see it on ebay. The guy who brought it in said that he purchased it from a New York vet, he also gave the vet's name and address as well. This is what we know, and this is how Oldmarketplace got it. It is real and it is original.
Can anyone find a full Rohm for under $4000.00!!! I didn't think so.. |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
This thread is three days old, what took you so long?
BTW the auction says the piece was "acquired straight out of a vet's estate". You're here spinning a yarn about a kid coming into a store saying he purchased the dagger from the vet and had the name and address of the vet. So which is it? |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Stabschef:
Long time between scams isn't it!!! |
|||
|
![]() |
First of all I do not come to this forum much anymore as I have other important things to do. A friend of mine who saw this thread emailed me last night and asked me to respond so I did. I said what I had to say according to what I know and what I saw which was a full and complete dagger with no signs of refitting (meaning absolutely no gaps between blade and lower crossguard). This is the way my buddies at Oldmarketplace bought it, they offered me first shot at it before it went to auction, as they always do. Had it been an SS I would have grabbed it. Enough said, end of discussion on my part.
|
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Tell me Stab in between your busy schedule of shilling for Oldmarketplace on various forums - do you write comedy skits by any chance...
GDC silver member #393 |
|||
|
![]() ![]() |
Latest change to the ad: < |